Mellor Book Prize

The Suzanne and James Mellor Prize of $50,000 was awarded annually to the author of the best proposal for a scholarly book on an individual woman artist or subject related to the mission of NMWA.

The purpose of the award was to encourage the highest quality scholarship on women artists from any time period or nationality and to enhance the role of the museum in shaping scholarly dialogue on women in the arts. The Mellor Prize Award is currently on hiatus.

Prize Winners

2014     Jo Applin
              Not Working: Lee Lozano Versus the Art World 1961-1971

2013     Carole Blumenfeld
              Marguerite Gérard

2012    Geneviève Haroche-Bouzinac
             Louise Élisabeth Vigée Le Brun, histoire d’un regard (English Translation)

2011    Nelleke Nix and Helga Prignitz-Poda in collaboration with NMWA
            Frida Kahlo Letters at the National Museum of Women in the Arts

2010    Jeffrey Hamburger
             Elizabeth of Lünen: Liturgy, Learning and Performance at Paradies bei Soest, 1300–1425

2009    Melissa Hyde and Mary Sheriff
             Women in French Art: Rococo to Romanticism 1750–1830