Shenson Chamber Music Concert: ModernMedieval Trio of Voices

Artistic Director: Gilan Tocco Corn

Experience The Living Word’s D.C. debut and world-premiere by Joel Phillip Friedman.

Jacqueline Horner-Kwiatek, formally of the acclaimed vocal quartet Anonymous 4, is joined by Martha Cluver and Eliza Bagg from the celebrated ensemble “Roomful of Teeth” to present programs that combine medieval chant and polyphony with new commissions and music from later eras.

Trio of Voices takes the vocal techniques developed by Anonymous 4 and combines them with a fresh programming approach. The Living Word features four of Hildegard of Bingen’s most ecstatic chants, including O Jerusalem and O Ecclesia, interwoven with new works by acclaimed composers Caroline Shaw, Caleb Burhans, Daniel Thomas Davis, and a world premiere by Joel Phillip Friedman. Horner-Kwiatek makes her debut as a composer, using her years of experience studying and singing to provide a unique vision. The new works are based on, or influenced by, Hildegard’s philosophic writings and her visions.


Registration is required. Seating is limited and registration does not guarantee your seat(s). Registered guests will be seated on a first-come, first-served basis. Open seats will be given to guests on standby beginning at 7:25 p.m.

register now


2017-2018 Shenson Chamber Music Concert brochure

The 2017–2018 Shenson Chamber Music Concert Series is made possible by support from Fred M. Levin and Nancy Livingston and The Shenson Foundation in memory of Drs. Ben and A. Jess Shenson.

National Museum of Women in the Arts